Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

First let me say, I don’t hate kids. But until my grandson, I just was never around any. My daughter was my first exposure to children. I never babysat even.

But I have this major initiative with my job. The newest component is the addition of Kindergarten Countdown. It’s a boost for kids who aren’t quite ready. We have 18 kids in the pilot program. It started today. So I stopped in to see how it was going. The two teachers and a college student had everything under control (as I expected they would).

It was controlled chaos. All I knew was that even though I’m paying very well, teachers (especially kindergarten teachers) don’t get paid enough. Or at least, there isn’t enough money in the world to pay ME to do what they do.

Today I’m especially thankful for teachers and all they do. But I’m also thankful that I can work to start and provide programs that help children succeed.

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Project – School Success" (9)

  1. With kids that age, I guess controlled chaos is the best one could hope for.

  2. I like that term.

  3. Sounds like a wonderful program. Congrats!

    • Oh it is. It is giving these kids a necessary boost. Plus they get breakfast, lunch, a chance to ride school buses. We are using the actual kindergarten teachers, providing backpacks with school supplies AND they get a new book every single day of the four week program! I feel like a proud momma!

      • That is so wonderful. Learning the “routine” of school is so important for some children. It helps even the playing field when these children go into school with other children who have had lots of opportunities throughout their lives.

  4. I know what you mean Pamela, I couldn’t get paid to do it either. Reminds me of Kindergarten Cop, lol. Way to go!

  5. Great, Pamela. Kids these days need so much, and everything we can do to help them will give them a better start.

  6. Both of my parents were teachers and they were never paid enough. In fact, my dad’s salary his first year of working as a teacher was $3500.00! Yikes! And the stories (horror) they told were scary. I’m good with kids, but you couldn’t pay me enough to be a teacher every day!

  7. I’ve never understood why people ever think teachers are overpaid or even paid adequately. Thanks for sharing this and for being one of those trying to make a difference for little kids.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

