Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Nook annoyances

Dear Barnes & Noble:

I think I know one of the reasons your company is in trouble.

First let me say, I have been a loyal customer for years. I have purchased FOUR different Nooks, countless Nook books, as well as books in your stores. So I think I understand how this should work.

I have tried your online customer service chat (it stinks). I have called and talked with live people. And they are actually very nice. BUT the problem persists.

Less than a week ago I called to question why, all of a sudden, you are taking the price of my Nook books off of a registered gift card and then turning around and charging my debit card for the taxes on that book when I still have a credit on my gift card. I was assured that is not the way it should be done.

Always one to give second chances, I purchased another book tonight. It was $2.99. And sure enough, even though there is still credit on my gift card, the book was deducted from that credit and 21 cents tax was charged to my debit card.

I tried calling customer service but got tired of holding. Rest assured that as soon as my gift card balance is depleted, you will have lost a very loyal customer. People have been trying to get me to buy a Kindle and this might be what pushes me over the edge.

Your formerly loyal customer

Comments on: "Nook annoyances" (16)

  1. That really sucks. I hope you get it fixed up soon. Barnes & Noble is having a lot of trouble these days, especially with the Nook.

  2. Wow, that is so weird. Good to know there is another nook lover out there like me, lol. My progression sounds like your own, I have bought 4 nook devices too! Hmm, I just put on a gift card too… I wonder if it is doing that…. it really surprises me that they are doing that because I would think the credit card fee they have to pay is more than they get from the tax. Super weird, I hope it gets resolved soon! 🙂

    • I have had a Nook since the first one came out. And I do love it. I’m just annoyed. Even more since I have already addressed the issue once.

      • Yup, I had that one too! I actually think the nook devices are superior to Amazon’s but the actual service is so poor compared to Amazon. Makes me sad because I don’t want Amazon to be the only game in town.

      • I just don’t like Amazon and their hold on the industry. And several other reasons. I mostly read on my ipad now but love my original Nook for reading out in the sun.

      • I have the simple touch that I use, I love it. It’s like holding a paperback novel but your entire bookcase resides inside. I like using my tablet more for comic books and yup, exactly I feel the same way about Amazon.

  3. *kindle owner* Love you:)

  4. Way to go! Hit ’em where it counts – the bank account. Customer service has gone down hill for years in America and it stinks. People here in the valley are a little better but it’s a pervasive scenario really. I hope you sent this letter to them… 🙂

  5. I despair at what is happening to reading right now. Just despair. The outlets that are supposed to be promoting good reading seem intent upon destroying it. This is yet another example.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

