Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

First, you should know, I’m not a procrastinator (typically).

I had received this grant at work. I won’t bore you with all the details, but I needed to submit a claim form. It meant compiling some data, using multiple spreadsheets, and just generally blocking everything to do it.

I have looked at it every single day for weeks. I mean weeks and weeks. I’ve honestly tried doing it, but I hate that kind of stuff (administrivia, as someone describes it). It made my head feel like it was going to explode. So, I’ve put it off…a lot.

Today I decided for the 874th time, that I just wasn’t going to go home until I got it finished.

Today I finally finished it. My head spun around a few times. Parts of it even flew off I think. But I stuck with it. It is done.

A weight feels like it has been lifted off if me. Procrastinating didn’t make it easier…or harder. It just prolonged the agony.

Today I’m extra thankful to get that done. And thankful I don’t normally procrastinate.

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Project – Procrastination" (5)

  1. This can be the best feeling in the world. Finally getting something done that I’ve been putting off. CONGRATULATIONS!!!! 😀

  2. Glad your done with this – my wife thrives on this stuff. When she managed an ER in Michigan, she managed dollars and people. Lots of charting and codes to know. I’m with you, this stuff sucks. 🙂

  3. This sounds so familiar! lol I had to do the books for our organization a couple of months ago. All I had to do was get all the numbers together, the receipts gathered, assets accounted, etc. I hate math and stuff like that so I kept putting it off. Finally, one day I just stayed late at work and got it done! I felt such relief! 🙂 Glad you got it done!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

