Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

You know the saying, “the best laid plans”? Well, I thought I had today all planned out. But I didn’t take into account anyone creating something different.

So, I gave out backpacks. One of my kindergarten countdown kids came in. He was excited to see me. But we gave out 200 backpacks in no time. There were kids everywhere! So fun.

Then I got a call from one of my staff who works part time at WalMart. It seems that their corporate did a last minute mandate that they had to participate in Stuff the Bus. We haven’t done it locally because I am just one person and that program just didn’t make the cut. WalMart had no idea what they were going to do with the school supplies that they collected. But Karen (my part time staffer) suggested they partner with our United Way. Then she called me. I could hardly say no then.

So, as soon as I was done with backpacks, I headed to meet with the WalMart manager. We got it all worked out. Unfortunately though with this late notice (it only goes through Monday), I couldn’t get the co-branding I would have liked. Plus I’m leaving town until Monday night. Oh well, it is what it is. And it is all about the kids.

So, today didn’t quite go as planned. But it was a good day.

I’m thankful today for the kids…and for the generosity of the community.

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Project – It’s all about the kids!" (2)

  1. Overall it seems like a good day! Hope you’re having a good weekend! 🙂

  2. So many days do not go as planned, you have a good attitude about it. Hope you are doing something fun out of town.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

