Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

What a day. I spent it all with our consultant. In the middle we had two 90-minute meetings. It was all very very good, but it was also stress I didn’t need. Not bad stress, just stress. I have a killer headache tonight…I need it to rain. So, combine stress, with sinus, throw in sitting in fluorescent lights all day…and you get a huge throbbing head.

But I do have very good news! My MacBook Air arrived today. I’m so excited. After a tiny learning curve (mostly my own stupidity), I’ve got most of it set up. I need to get Office for Mac and a couple of other things downloaded tomorrow and I will be good to go. I just love that everything talks to each other with iCloud. Besides, my other laptop is a 17″ monstrosity. Hardly portable. This is 13″ and plenty big for my needs. And I hear the battery life is great.

So today, I’m thankful for my new laptop. And I’m thankful for a great day with my board and volunteers and our consultant.

But as exciting as all of that, I’m most thankful today for good news from Ionia. She is recovering (and sort of resting). I’m just happy that her prognosis is 95% she has beaten that nasty cancer. What a great friend and I am so happy. I love that lady and need her to help keep Charles and Bradley the boys in line!

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Project – Whew!" (26)

  1. It’s always me and Bradley that has to get kept in line. πŸ˜‰

  2. Hey now! No, that’s probably true. Charles and I do need supervision, lol. Great news, I love new technology toys! πŸ™‚

  3. Your do recall that she put us in charge and we totally lost it to those two. I am such a slacker. She will forgive us though. The boys did a good job of keeping everything in order.

  4. YAY!! Mac is great!! Enjoy, I want to see updates on how much you love your shiny new apple. πŸ™‚

    • So far I’m in love!

      • Aww so sweet! Your first Mac?

      • Yep. I’m a slow learner. Still learning

      • Are you kidding? It took me days to learn these machines. I still don’t use all of the functions they have either. I have the 13′ Air and the larger MacBook Pro which is the main machine. Warning – once you do Mac, you won’t go back!

      • I just love how my iPad, iPhone, and Mac air can all talk to each other through iCloud. Why can’t everything do that? Set up was a piece of cake once I got started with iCloud. Plus I love the size and it weighs exactly as much as my iPad with the cover. I am a recent apple convert. What’s not to love?

      • Tough to beat! You may recall I recently tried a Windows machine that had W8 in it of course. It went back to the store the very next day. What was Microdumb thinking?

        I told someone the other day that was using a W7 laptop – keep it! It’s worth it’s weight in gold in the world of computers… That laptop was a complete fail.

      • Yeah that played into my decision. I didn’t want an 8. Apple just has some design things that are sweet. The downside is I’m two hours away from the closest store if I need help. And I have to get all new software for Mac. But as a nonprofit I can get great prices.

      • Well that’s good that you get a deal on software. I suppose you can get help via the Apple forums online or ask another Mac user like me, I might be able to help. Or not… πŸ˜‰ I am transferring a cute video I just made of Zeus being all vicious… Using wifi to transfer it from the iphone to the MacBook. Yay for tech toys!

      • Oh I know several Mac users. I was thinking if I had those difficult questions that I always seem to have. You know the ones…nobody else ever has a problem with something. But I’m ‘special’ and am the one in a million with a unique problem. Haha

      • If you need a carry case I suggest Best Buy, Office Depot or similar stores. Enjoy!

      • Nope. I’m a Vera Bradley girl πŸ™‚

        Nearly the bewitching hour. Guess I better call it a day. Good night

  5. I love my MacBook Air!!!!!! It is perfect for my arthritic hands. πŸ™‚ You are going to totally love how light it is and portable. No CD rom, but you can always get one and hook it up to your laptop. πŸ™‚ Glad to year your friend’s prognosis looks good.

  6. Way to go, girl! I love Macs. Right now I just have an iPad and my desktop but love both. John is right: “Once you do Mac, you won’t go back!” I bought my first Mac (a mini) back in 2005 and have been a Mac addict ever since. I was drooling over the 13-inch Mac Airs that some people had at the 2-day meeting I was at recently. I love my iPad, but it does have it limitations. The iCloud is great and is one of many reasons why I stick with Macs. It’s so nice to work on my novel on my desktop, save it to iCloud and then open the same version on my iPad later. Enjoy!!

    • I’m still adjusting. Haven’t had any time to really get into it. But the iCloud is a huge reason for my decision. And I didn’t want something with windows 8.

      • I have heard nothing good about Windows 8. My husband just bought a new laptop. It had to be Windows because his astronomy software doesn’t work on Macs, but he was able to get Windows 7. And as he was leaving this morning, he told me that his new laptop has 77 Windows updates to download. Sooooo love my Mac.

      • I just updated mine and it only had 11. But I don’t update the non critical ones. It is a pain. I am hoping to get software loaded on the Mac today in my spare time.

      • Enjoy that! I love installing new software … with the Mac that is πŸ˜‰ Hope you have a better day at work, too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

