Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Peace

I finally decided to stand up and say what I wanted to say.

I still have family members sending me emails about grandma’s diaries. I have just not answered them…until tonight. I’m tired of having this whole mess be a big deal. This is something I own. I will not be giving them up. I’ve talked it over with a couple of other family members and my dad. That’s just the way it is. I may, someday, have them scanned and digitized but there are nearly 60 journals so it would be an expensive proposition.

Tonight I sent an email response that told my cousin’s son that he was welcome to come to my house and read them, just like my mom did with her brothers. But in order to preserve the integrity of this valuable collection of family history, I was not allowing them to be removed from my house.

I have not gotten a response yet. But I’m ready. I don’t want a fight. But I’m not a doormat. They aren’t going to break into my house and steal them (that part of the family is dead) so they can ask nicely to sit at my house and read them of they can leave me alone. My mom had those diaries for over 20 years. And now, all of a sudden there is an interest?

I feel a peace now that I have quit hiding and answered. Let’s just hope the peace spreads.

I thought about removing comments from this because I really don’t need advice on how to “fix” this. Just needed to blow off some steam. So, if you are going to tell me how to “fix” this, please don’t.

Comments on: "Peace" (4)

  1. Congrats in defending and preserving those valuable books!

  2. Sue Nunemaker said:

    A great solution! You go, girl!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

