Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

First of all, I was going to take today as a vacation day so I would have a four day weekend. I didn’t. But I got so much done at work. The phones didn’t ring (I think a lot of people took today off). No interruptions really helps get things done.

Plus, I’m on a hiatus from Facebook. I’ve been finding that it is all recipes (that’s what Pinterest is for), political jabs and ugliness (both sides of the aisle) and just cute little memes and pictures with quotes. But my friends that do all if the above, post just enough personal stuff and pictures, that I can’t hide them. Plus Facebook can be a huge time suck. So, I announced that I was going dark for awhile. It may be permanent. I won’t deactivate my account because I want to still check my daughter’s page for pics from her fashion stuff and Soren.

But I have felt so much lighter. No reason to go there (Andrea’s stuff is sent to my email). So my self imposed Facebook exile is doing what I needed it to do – free up my time.

So today at work was a very productive day.

But, I canceled my cleaning lady this week. I thought it would be good for me to clean my own house because I know there are probably things I will do that she doesn’t do. I cleaned the basement tonight. But what was I thinking? Tomorrow when it is supposed to be 87 degrees (my kind of weather), I will be stuck inside cleaning. At least I’m halfway done since I cleaned the basement tonight. I love a freshly cleaned house and I know I will love it when it is done.

Today, though, I’m really thankful I usually have my house cleaned. But I’m thankful I am able to do it myself once in awhile too. And I’m thankful I was able to get so much done today at work (I still brought some stuff home this weekend). And I’m thankful I finally said “no more” to the Facebook drama and garbage.

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Project – What was I thinking?" (8)

  1. Clean the outside of the house?

  2. It is a great feeling when the house is clean! Especially if you don’t have kids around to mess it up immediately after! 🙂 Enjoy your weekend!

  3. sugarbeechronicles said:

    I agree completely about Facebook. It’s crap, and a huge time waster. It’s not fun anymore with all the arguing, reposts, and recipes. I’m on vacation until the 9th. I plan on cleaning house also and getting tons of writing done. Should be a piece of cake, since Facebook is extremely low on my list. 😄

  4. Uhg – facebook! facebook is one big suck but that’s just one guy’s opinion. my wife loves it and usesit to stay in touch with her sisters. glad you got the work done!!

  5. House cleaning can be therapeutic. I do it all the time. Great opportunity to burn some calories, jam to my iPod and – yes – love the smell of a clean house!!

  6. I am thinking I should start an Anonymous group for FaceBookers. I get so many e-mail notices from people who have tagged me or whatever, rustle around in my pile of paper to try and find my forgotten password, only to find out they wanted me to know they were playing some game or didn’t like the service at Red Robin last night. Ugghhhh. Good for you !
    Later…

    • Downside I’m finding is that my local news outlets all post on there and now I have to go to them separately.

      • Good to take a break from that stuff also. It’s 99 percent sensationalist stuff that offers you no info useful in your life, with no option to do anything about it, which can lead to feelings of frustration, impotence, and cynicism. I felt a great relief when I quit my political op-ed gig. I ust try to find humor in it now…try
        Later…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

