Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Thanksgiving Project – Tile

We built our house 12 years ago. We were younger then. Good thing too, because when I say we built our house, I mean we had hammers, ran electrical wiring, hung drywall, put in plumbing, laid tile. All while living in the basement for 18 months and working full time.

We did some things that we wished we hadn’t done. One was putting in elegant white carpet throughout. Oh, it was gorgeous and we didn’t have pets or kids here so keeping it clean wasn’t a problem. But I hated it. Warren is a white walls only guy. I love color. So, about five years ago, we ripped out nearly perfect white carpet and installed hardwood floors. I love it. Easier to maintain and it is just rich looking. And once I convinced him of that, I decided that I could push it a little and put colors on the walls. Again, we love it.

So, a few weeks ago I bought tile to redo the guest bathroom. After a bit (okay a lot) of nagging, he finally started. When I got home from work on Friday, he was on his hands and knees sanding the glue from the linoleum type flooring we put in originally. It took him all day Friday and Saturday morning to get the floor ready to put down the new tile. He got it all done Saturday and grouted it today. It looks gorgeous.

I keep wondering why he doesn’t listen to me in the first place. But I’m thankful he eventually comes around.

Now, what should my next project be that should have been done in the first place? Hmmmm

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Project – Tile" (3)

  1. Always listen to the wife – she is usually right! No pics?

  2. Ah – home improvement – what an incredible sense of accomplishment!

    I have something for you – I posted this yesterday after spending a whole day working on it – now I am behind on my reader BUT it is – you are worth it!

    http://words4jp.wordpress.com/2013/09/01/lots-lots-lots-of-loads-of-thanks/

    Now I must head over to your poetry site – I received an email notification that you had a sleepless night…

    • Thank you for your kind words on my poetry. I am certainly not a poet (nor do I aspire to be), but I enjoy putting a few words together from time to time. Funny thing, no one in my world except for my WP friends, knows I write anything at all. I want this just for me I think.

      Oh, and thank you for the awards and thoughts, but I really haven’t accepted awards. I get so confused about them and I’m usually on my phone so I just don’t follow through with any of that. But knowing that you thought of me is award enough for me.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

