Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

I really thought I had done this yesterday but I guess not.  Having it roll around my head most of the day just doesn’t seem to count.

 

Anyway, yesterday I was especially thankful for my roots – my grandparents in particular.

 

I’ve been scanning grandma’s diaries and reading them as I go.  My grandmother was an amazing woman – she managed a farm, raised 11 kids, always had a houseful of people, never complained.  She buried some of her own adult children, outlived her husband, had an adult child with special needs and still never complained.

 

Her diaries are really pretty mundane – who came over that day, when she went grocery shopping, births, sicknesses, etc.  There are no real details – no emotions.  But knowing the family history and remembering my grandma, I know the backstory. Grandma always said “if you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all.”  Some days she was pretty quiet.  But she never complained.

 

I so appreciated my grandma when she was alive and even more now.  It has been over 20 years since she died and she left an indelible imprint on so many.  I’m thankful for the memories and thankful I had the grandmother I had.

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Project – Ancestry" (4)

  1. That’s great that she left diaries. Most families only have the stories passed down verbally to go by and those get muddled over the generations.

  2. A beautiful tribute! Both of my grandmothers died before I was born. I’m sure I missed a lot.

  3. What a treasure to have those diaries. Even if mundane, they bring you closer to her which helps you appreciate the woman she was.

  4. *Cough* 11 kids? Holy crap. I thought four were a test.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

