Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

It has been a day…a day to really not accomplish much. I slept in until 7:37. That is unheard of. But I needed it desperately.

Then a relaxing lazy morning before running into town to check up on my dad. He seemed a little down. I chalked it up to bing worn out.

Then home to sit and read. I started Jo Nesbo’s The Bat. I had read The Devil’s Star quite awhile ago and really enjoyed it. So I’m anxious to read the other books.

I finally had decent food today too. That always helps.

I decided I would just call my dad tonight instead of running into town again (unless he needed me to go in). I asked how he was doing and he said not very good. All of a sudden I became very alert. He really didn’t want to talk about it. Just said he wasn’t feeling good. He has a nurse who has been going to his house twice a week for about four years to bathe him. She was going in to help his caregiver get him in bed. He is so tired and so weak, it takes two people. Normally they use a belt, but it has created a rash from his belly incision to his back. So we don’t want to use that anymore.

I’ve been trying to get him to cut out the pain meds. Well, she told him he needed to only take it before bed. He also needs to start laying down during the day. He sits in his power chair 14 hours a day and it is exhausting him.

We will go in at 7:00 to help get him out of bed in the morning. Then back to get him in bed tomorrow night. But Monday my sister is responsible for finding someone to help. I will be looking into home health care first thing on Monday. I am in my busy season at work plus I live ten miles out of town. My sister lives a block away, only works part time and has two home schooled healthy teenage daughters. She has to do more. I took 4 days off work last week. I can’t do that anymore.

But I just want my dad to get better.

Tomorrow is going to be a good day, I know it!

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Project – Everything…almost" (15)

  1. Positive thoughts for your dad. I hope you fund help for him.

  2. You have been doing more than your fair share. Keep loving him and let her help.

  3. I hope all goes well – having a sibling must be both a blessing and a challenge, sometimes. Your father is lucky to have the both of you – I send many get well wishes to him and hang in there wishes to you and your sister. xx

  4. You and your dad are in my prayers. ~Gina

  5. Hope things are going more smoothly with your sister helping out! You are an amazing woman, Pamela!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

