Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

My dad can’t walk at all. He is in a power chair 14 hours a day. He can’t stand. And can’t use a walker. He had been able to walk a little bit with a walker and a helper though. But he quit trying a few months ago. He is so afraid of falling.

Today, I was the bad daughter. I forced him to walk with two men and his walker across the living room and back. We have to get him moving. He has done nothing but lay in bed for days. Plus last night was a really bad night. He kept his caregiver hopping. Every 30-45 minutes he wanted to be turned and he can’t do that himself. He can’t even take the sheet off of himself.

I’ve been here since 6:45 this morning when I came in to help get him out of bed. I’m really really tired. I have a very busy week at work, especially since I took four days off last week. I was home for a little over an hour before I got called back. He hasn’t slept more than twenty minutes at a time since Friday. I will stay and turn him all night until 6:30. I have campaign meetings starting tomorrow. I can’t take much time off work this week.

Oh, and I’m mad at my mom for not taking care of herself and dying on us. She should be here to help.

But I’m thankful for the baby steps dad took today. More tomorrow. I just need him to sleep. Oh, and I’m calling the doctor in the morning.

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Project – Baby Steps" (20)

  1. I hope the exercise will help him sleep, for both your sakes. Damned ‘like’ button – habit. But I do have to say that you’re not the bad daughter. You had the strength to make him do what was best for him. *hugs*

  2. 😦 Hopefully he’ll gradually bounce back to his pre-surgical trauma mode. I did have to give a chuckle to ‘Oh, and I’m mad at my mom for not taking care of herself and dying on us. She should be here to help.” Sending sleepy thoughts your way…
    Ellespeth

  3. Hang in there. You are not the bad daughter – you are doing what is best so that he can get stronger. xxxx

  4. Can’t help but wonder why the doctor doesn’t put him in the hospital. My prayers are with him and you.

  5. You are not the bad daughter. You are the wonderful daughter, balancing your life day to day as best you can in this difficult time Pamela. Sleep well, both of you.

  6. You all are in my thoughts and prayers, Pamela. You are an amazing daughter. You two are blessed to have each other XOXO

  7. I can remember being mad at my mom for not being around to help me raise my kids. I feel that being angry is part of healthy grieving. Nothing you are doing is bad. Peace be with you both.

  8. I’m praying for you my dear friend…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

