Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

So we had our Care Plan meeting at the rehab today. My dad got good and mad the other day and has been up and dressed every day since then. I think it was all mental for him. If he hadn’t gotten mad, he might still be laying in bed all day.

Tomorrow us his home evaluation. Let’s hope it goes well. And hopefully home by Friday. I can’t be there tomorrow though so I hope my sister is vocal enough to make sure he really is ready.

I hate being the parent. Hate feeling like I’m the bad guy. I raised my daughter and thought I was done with all of that. But now I feel like I’m doing it all over again.

But tonight I’m thankful for his progress. Fingers crossed his excursion out for lunch and then his home evaluation goes well.

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Project – Going Home????" (14)

  1. Fingers crossed! It would be a good deal for all involved. I knew you could blast through this!

  2. The sandwich generation. It is a tough place to be.

  3. Good to hear he’s making progress. You’re right that a lot of it is mental.

  4. Great news, I hope that all goes well.

  5. What I find interesting is the line – ‘I hate being a parent’. Isn’t it interesting that when we are born we are taken care of by a parent – then we grow older to the point of being parented by our children. A true circle of life;)

    • I thought my parenting days were over. I’m just starting again. And it is way harder to parent a parent than to parent your child

      • I am certain it is. When we parent children, we are teaching those who are just experiencing life and who they are. When parenting parents it is the opposite along with added frustration – they cannot do what it is they have done all their lives – and/or they are like children and experiencing life anew with a memory lost. I am not certain what is more difficult. I can only speculate. I am certain they each have their ‘moments’. I personally never got the chance to parent my mom or dad. They both passed before I ever had the chance.

  6. Hoping all goes well and there is good news to report tomorrow.

  7. Oh! That would be wonderful!
    Ellespeth

  8. Crossing my fingers for you as well!

  9. Fingers and toes crossed for you. 🙂

  10. Good luck, Pam. I completely understand about being the parent to our parents…it’s tough. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

