Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

I have been a Stephen King since he started writing. But then some of his stuff got just plain weird. I would get halfway through one of his more recent books and quit. Oh, I kept buying them and trying. But they just didn’t read as well as his earlier books. My favorite King books were The Stand and The Shining.

So, you can imagine how excited I was to hear he was writing a sequel to The Shining. But I was still a little nervous that he would let me down. He didn’t disappoint me. I loved Doctor Sleep.

You know I don’t give a book synopsis…go to Amazon or Goodreads for that. But I give this 4 1/2 stars. Not perfect, but back to his earlier kind of books. There were surprises (which I will not give away) that I loved. He really didn’t draw much on the Overlook. It was used as background. Although the book started out with some of that. From the time I started, I couldn’t put it down. It kept me engaged until the end.

And the end is the only place I had a problem with. It seemed a bit anticlimactic to me. But the build up was so intense that may have been why I felt like that.

I highly recommend this book, even if you haven’t read The Shining (although is there anyone who hasn’t?)

Comments on: "Book Review – Doctor Sleep" (3)

  1. Cool I so agree with you ‘re early King works compared to later. If this a return to form that is most welcome indeed. Thanks for posting! 🙂

  2. Thanks for this review. I have every intention of buying this book! Been too long 🙂

  3. Thanks for the review. My husband recently told me that he never read “The Shining”. I have it in paperback so he is going to read that one first. Then this one.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

