Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

I went to see my uncle in the hospital this afternoon. He was so glad to see me. His surgery was scheduled for 7:30 pm. And he was obviously in a lot of pain. But he insisted I lean down and hug him even though it hurt. I don’t have many of my mom’s siblings left. And I truly treasure my uncle. His kids are also so appreciative that I stop to see him frequently (although not as frequently as I should) since they live so far away. His daughter will be here around 10 tonight from Las Vegas. I will stop tomorrow and see how he is doing. But I’m glad I took time today to visit. I know he was thrilled.

And then I got to talk to my grandson. Preschool is really very good for him. He asked me “what’s your name grandma?” They must be learning names. He knows his full name. And he could even say Pamela 🙂 When I asked him if he liked school, he very politely answered “yes I do”. Then I asked if he was learning a lot and he said “yes I am”. Same answer when I asked if he was making friends. I miss him so much. Wish my daughter and I didn’t have such opposite schedules. Hopefully I can dash over for a visit over Thanksgiving.

Then I had to tell my daughter what my dad had cooked up. He wants to send his great grandson to Disney World and he thinks his grandma should go too. Well, it looks like a trip for four if us. Now the fun begins….trying to find a time. I already have a trip scheduled in January for ten days so I really can’t take any more time then. Christmas break is out because of the increased cost. I thought early February, but it seems my daughter is planning to show her collection in New York again. It isn’t looking too good for finding something before spring break prices kick in. We really don’t want to go to Florida when it is warm here, but May is looking like the first chance we will have.

Today I’m thankful for my family…my uncle, my cousins, my dad, my daughter, and, of course, my awesome grandson. I know not everyone has such strong family ties as I do and I feel bad for those who don’t have great memories. But that is just one more thing to be thankful for.

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Project – Too much" (5)

  1. Hope your uncle recovers quickly. That Disney World trip sounds like fun, so I hope you can find a time.

  2. The best time is April. The weather is sunny and the summer thunderstorms haven’t started yet. But it is still cool enough to enjoy. Not warm enough to swim though, unless they have a heated pool. April and November are my favorite two months. Sometimes December. January and February can be cold. After May, until November again, it is hot. The lines are usually not too long in April either, except Easter weekend. Sometimes the water rides and such will be closed in the winter. Glad you were able to spend time with your Uncle, and your Dad seems better.

  3. And they are very lucky to have you. We are all very lucky to have you, for that matter. Also, I love curly hair cutie updates.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

