Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Today has been a great day. I wasn’t able to sleep in – but I still just laid in bed until 8:00 am – and for me that is almost as good! Then I spent the morning packing for my trip, straightening the house up, and getting chili in the crock pot.

THEN, time for me to sit and read πŸ™‚ and smell the chili (which made me very hungry).

A friend stopped by with a Blackberry pie that I bought from her sorority (I’m saving it for Thanksgiving). Then off to meet my cousin and her husband at the local winery. We had a very relaxed afternoon. Plus, they had a new pomegranate blueberry wine that they had added mulling spices to – it was very very good. A great treat for a cool fall day.

Then off to my friend’s house to get my shot this week. On my way home from her house I saw all these cars stopped at the various roads heading across the train tracks. Then I remembered – the steam locomotive passenger train was making a couple of runs this weekend. So, I pulled over and just as I was getting out of my car, I heard the train whistle. I ran (literally) up next to the track so I could see it. The sun was in my eyes so picture taking was very difficult. Plus all I had with me was my phone. But I think under the circumstances, it didn’t turn out so bad.
IMG_0269

Today I have so many things to be thankful for – but I’m so glad I was able to see the train in person (I’ve seen videos and pictures on Facebook). And it was a relaxing day – ahhhhh!

(The alarm is set for 4:30 am tomorrow so I can head down to Indianapolis to catch a flight to DC – three days of meetings – then should be home again by 9:00 pm Wednesday night – I need a new travel agent – this one chooses stupid flights!)

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Project – Choo Choo" (10)

  1. Glad to hear you had such a nice day! Good luck getting up so early in the morning haha. Enjoy your flight πŸ™‚

  2. Excellent day. Can’t go wrong with wine and steam engines.

  3. Did it make a stop at Petticoat Junction?

    • I will check. They only made two runs in two days. I heard they sold out seats in two hours. It would have been fun. My grandpa retired from the railroad. I have the caboose light they gave him from his caboose when he retired.

      • Rail fan aye? Back in Michigan I had several friends that were big time rail fans, the occasional train video on the site is from that time in the 90’s.

  4. Sometimes we rest and sleep better away than near. Have a safe trip!
    That’s a great photo!
    Ellespeth

  5. I too made chili this weekend. I could eat that all day. Hope you have a good trip, safe flight and you get some rest after having to get up so darn early. ~Gina

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

