Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

What life wouldn’t be complete without pizza? Okay, that might be overstating it a bit. But really, pizza saves many an evening meal.

Tonight was one of those nights. After a long day at work, the last thing I wanted to do was fix dinner. Plus, then I had to head over to my girlfriend’s house so she could stick a needle in my butt. But since we were out anyway, and hungry, pizza was the answer. Living somewhere we can’t get delivery, we try to take advantage of the times we are already out and about.

Plus, we are living in the $5 pizza world. Not exactly gourmet pizzas, but edible.

I remember when I was little, there was no such thing as a pizza joint. We used to buy these horrible pizzas in a box. They had a packet of dry flour stuff that you added water to and rolled out. Then a little “pizza sauce” that tasted just like plain old tomato sauce. Add your own meat. Then top with grated Parmesan cheese. We’ve come a long way since that.

Today I’m thankful for pizza. Modern pizza.

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Project – Pizza" (11)

  1. I raised my family on those boxed pizzas and became quite adept at making them palatable. Extra pepperoni, black olives, mushrooms, green peppers, tons of grated mozzarella and you barely knew it came out of a box. Still, nothing beats the brick oven baked, NYC water bread pizza from Bella Italia hot and fresh out of the oven, surrounded by a dozen good friends.

    • I remember when we were really poor and couldn’t afford even hamburger for the pizza, my mom used to make it with canned tuna. We didn’t know it was awful. As a young adult I tried it again. It was the nastiest thing I’d ever eaten. But when you’re a kid, you eat anything I guess

      • Haha! eeewe…tuna pizza. When we were really poor, it was Hamburger Helper made with ground venison. I was in nursing school and the only thing my husband could make were things that said “Add water and simmer twenty minutes.” Tuna Helper and Hamburger Helper were on the list. I always tried to grab a bite on the way home. Even a service station sandwich was better.

      • Ah. But I’m talking my childhood so that would have been a couple of decades earlier. I don’t think hamburger helper was on the market yet.

      • In my childhood it was always macaroni and cheese, made with that big block of Government cheese they used to send out with the big cans of peanut butter. My grandparents got those boxed Government staples when the crops were bad. Come to think of it, recalling that I had my first child at 16 (and was pregnant at fifteen…it sort of was my childhood. But I didn’t meet Mark [the deer hunter] and marry him until I was 19).

  2. I so want pizza now. No . . . I need pizza.

  3. Oh yum – I dream of Pizza Hut deep dish pizza. Mostly because I can’t have it anymore. But my gluten free version is still pretty tasty. Now I know what to do for tomorrow’s dinner!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

