Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

No, I’m not thankful for procrastination. And typically I’m not a procrastinator. In fact, I’m one of those people who try to be early on everything. But once in awhile, I hit a project that I just keep putting off…and off…and off.

Well, I had one of those projects. It was weighing me down. I kept saying I needed to just buckle down and finish it. In fact, I knew I was within a couple of hours of getting it all done. But it has been so busy that every day I had too many interruptions. Interruptions I allowed to derail my plans to complete the final steps.

Well, I told my secretary when she left on Thursday that I wasn’t going home on Friday until it was done. I was absolutely committed.

And, guess what? Once I really got serious, it only took one hour to finish. Sheesh, surely I could have found one hour before. Of course I could have.

Today, I’m thankful I got this elephant (the monkey grew over time) off my back. I felt like a huge weight had been lifted off my shoulders. Now, if I can just learn my lesson and not do this again.

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Project – Procrastination" (8)

  1. Such peace to get something out of the way. Especially if it’s the size of an elephant. The food bill alone on that beast had to be annoying.

  2. I have been doing this with yard work. I should just get off me bum and do eeeet!

  3. Success!!! Feels good ya!

  4. Sometimes I put off simple chores, like yard work or washing the dishes…and then when I get up and get her done…it takes all of fifteen minutes and I wonder why I stressed myself out over it. Normally i don’t let things pile up, but lately I have just been too committed to writing and nothing else.

  5. The real ‘thing’ to blame when we keep putting off things is our brain. It never keeps promises made to yourself, always flashes the image of the person you’re trying to avoid, and keeps pushing things ahead of schedule. I had the same problem before. Thankfully, I set my priorities straight, and now my brain’s on the right track šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

