Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

I think the thing I’m most thankful for today is that as of 10:30 this morning, my work week was finally over. I did take Friday afternoon off, but still put in 55 hours this week. I’m beat. So, I truly am thankful for the down time.

Of course that all comes with a price. Today’s price is dealing with my dad. He has come to the realization that he just doesn’t think he can stay home much longer. I’ve just had a feeling for the past few weeks that something wasn’t quite right. But every time I would ask, he would say things were fine. I even called my sister and asked her if she had noticed anything – in fact, I even went so far as to stop and see her at her work yesterday. She kept assuring me that it was just the time of year (whatever that thing is that the lack of sunshine affects people). Today she called and asked if I had time to talk. I knew something was up. So, it seems that today dad told her that we need to start looking for assisted living for him. His mobility is deteriorating, he is almost too much for one person to handle, and he realizes that he needs something more.

Fast forward – I stop to see dad and he tells me pretty much the same thing. Now comes the hard part – I don’t think he can do assisted living. He needs more than that. This stuff is just not fun. But, at least I had the weekend (well, most of it) off.

Now if I can just finally find some time to read. Why does that always get put on the back burner? It is my saving grace and keeps me sane so it should be way more important. I’m reading Poe by J.Lincoln Fenn – not a typical book for me but so far really good. Have you noticed I keep saying “this is not a typical book for me?” I have never read outside of the suspense thriller genre much before and with all these indie books, I’m discovering new worlds. And I’m glad I am too. I encourage all of you to read something “not typical” for you today.

The other thing I’m thank for is that I have had TWO good hair days in a row. That almost never happens – now I’m going to try for three! Although, truth be told, I’d rather not have a good hair day tomorrow in exchange for a good hair day when I will be at work. Vain, I know. But I do love my hair 😉

It was nearly 60 degrees here today – but very windy. The temperatures are going to start dropping tomorrow though and by early next week it will be down i the 20’s at night. BRRRRRRR!

Don’t forget to be thankful for all the little things every single day.

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Project – Time Off" (17)

  1. I definitely have to say that you get the award for surviving the worst last couple of months imaginable. I think reading outside the proverbial box is good. I’ve been doing the same. I’m surprised by how many great books I’ve found that I never would have considered before. I hope you enjoy the book:)

  2. Sorry to hear about your dad. I know with my grandmother, my parents got a live-in aide, but I don’t know if insurance covers it.

  3. it’s called Seasonal Affective disorder or SAD. it stinks! I like the new photo of you!!

    http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/seasonal-affective-disorder/DS00195

    • Thanks John. My hair is easier to straighten when the air is dry.

      • You look great! I hope your dad is going to be OK Pamela, a big transition seems near for him regarding his living arrangements. Rebekah’s mother is nearing this change whether she likes it or not… Rebekah is feeling better but sore as heck from the massage therapy she had to have yesterday. A car ride hurts! we went to Henderson today, she stayed in the car the whole time.

      • Poor Rebekah. I was hoping she was all better. I bet she’s glad you’re home though.

      • Very much happy! There are certain jobs for which our young man does not qualify… 😉

  4. I was reading a lot of books outside my typical genres and a lot of indie books, but now I am back to genre reading. It was something that I needed to do though, in order to meet my own personal goals. Happy reading!

  5. I love your new photo!

  6. You are wonder woman for sure! That’s a lot of hours working. I am sorry it’s coming to this with your father. So difficult for him as well as his daughters. 😦
    Your hair looks fab. I straighten it also but can’t do it on muggy summer days. 🙂

  7. The parent things are tough , but as a good child we all must go through it. My thoughts are with you.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

