Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

So, I contacted my cousin who is here from Dallas visiting my uncle. We went out the other night and I wanted to see him at least one more time before he left again. I know he’s a beer guy so I thought going to a (kinda) local microbrewery might be fun for him. We had fun just talking. It didn’t hurt that the pizza was extra good.

So in our conversation he mentioned that his dad has been writing down who has come to visit. Since he’s been in rehab My dad and I are the only family besides his kids who have come to see him. I know how frustrating that is since I just went through that with my dad. And we don’t have a small family either. But evidently we do have a family too self absorbed to think about our elders. Pretty sad.

Plus, my cousin and her husband were here from Vegas for two weeks and now Jeff has been here for nearly two weeks. No one has tried to see them except me. Jeff was really appreciative tonight that I made arrangements to spend time with him. 350 days a year left to do whatever I want. Surely I can find a couple of evenings to spend with family.

I’m not bragging that I’m better than anyone else. But I am grateful that my mom instilled the importance of family in me. Thanks mom. In fact, thanks mom for teaching me so many things – my work ethic, my sense of pride in whatever I do, my values, my recognition of the importance of family.

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Project – Thanks Mom" (9)

  1. Your entire family is lucky to have you, Pam!

  2. And I’m thankful that you value family and friends the way you are too.

  3. You are such a sweetheart. I remember the sadness in my grandmother’s voice when I last spoke to her. For so many years, hers had been the home where everyone gathered for holidays and on Sundays for dinner, but as all of the cousins got involved with their own families, they visited less and less until finally, she told me no one had been by to see her in six months except me and my older sister. She had thirteen grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

