Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

There is a group (well, four) of us in town and we call ourselves the Gal Pals – but, honestly, one of them is a man. We just get together periodically to have lunch. We laugh and laugh and laugh. But we also share a lot of information on what is happening in town. It’s pretty much a guarantee that one of us will have the low-down on something that none of the others know about. Anyway, today was our lunch day. Great stress reliever – plus, I learned a couple of things I didn’t know about different things going on around town.

Now for my rant. If you don’t want to hear me gripe, now would be a good time to quit reading.

My SO is 11 years older than I am and took early retirement. We’ve been together nearly 17 years and he retired nearly 9 years ago. You would think I would be used to it by now but I’m not and I’m pretty sure I never will be.

I’m an off the charts Type A and he is about a ZZZZZ (that stands for someone who would be asleep if they did any less). Seriously, I’ve never seen one person who can do nothing all day and talk about how busy they have been. Drives me bananas.

I pay to have the house cleaned because it was causing me way too much stress after working 50-60 hours a week. I hate to cook, but if we are going to eat at home, it is up to me to cook. Oh sure, he does clean off the driveway when it snows (I mow way more than 50% of the time).

I get home today (late, of course). I’m in a bad mood because I left before daylight this morning and came after dark tonight. I brought home a pizza so I wouldn’t have to think about dinner. Plus, I knew that I was going to prepare something to throw in the crockpot for tomorrow. Of course, it only needs to cook for 4 hours. I sure hope Mr. Retired can take it out of the refrigerator and turn on the crockpot or there won’t be any dinner. I browned the hamburger, peeled and sliced the potatoes – all while he sat on his arse and watched television. I very sweetly asked “so, what did you do today?” His response was, “Just what I’m doing now.” Really? I worked all day, and I’m the one busting my hump getting dinner ready for tomorrow night. Gee, I wonder what it would be like to be home and just sit and do nothing all day while someone did everything around the house. He told me once that I made him tired (this was as he was sitting and watching me clean the house). Really? Then maybe you should help Mr. Retired.

GRRRRRR! Okay, so this wasn’t a mini rant – I just get worked up when I think about it.

Okay, back to your regularly scheduled program. Today, I’m thankful for my Gal Pals and the fun we have. I’m thankful for the laughter in the middle of the day. Not so thankful for the 18 degree weather this morning, but I am thankful I have a heater in my car.

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Project – Gal Pals and a Mini Rant" (14)

  1. Well…..I hope it made you feel better.

  2. This is so funny. I am reading your rant and Greg is in the kitchen loading the dishwasher after having worked all day. Mind you, we ate at Steak and Shake tonight, so these are dishes and pots and pans that have been sitting, for TWO days. I have been on the computer all day going back and forth between my cover artist and myself, trying to get the details ready on the cover image for the paperback now that I have the paperback interior finally approved. (For some reason, my cover image guy decided to highlight ALL of the first words to every line in pink when he brightened…never mind, I don’t want to go there.) I spent hours trying to figure out how to get a .pdf out of a skydrive image file. (Of course, Greg comes home and gets it done in five seconds.) So your rant makes me feel guilty and I run and relieve Greg in the kitchen, finish loading the dishwasher and wash up the pots and pans in less than fifteen mins.. Guilt is an awesome motivator! Thank You.

    • But you have been working too!

      • Yeah! And he just informed me that he is taking the rest of the week off to prepare for this auto parts swap meet they are going to. Must be nice to have a job where you can just say, “I think I’ll just take the whole week off,” and nobody minds. None of my nursing jobs were ever like that. We had to put in for time off 6 weeks in advance and MIGHT get approved and NEVER at holiday time.

      • I have flexibility with my job. Problem is I’m too busy to take time off. Although I’m thinking about maybe taking the Monday after the holiday off. Maybe.

  3. Sounds as though you and the Mr have something to chat about…

  4. This is probably one of the things that keeps my husband from retiring early: my dream to come from work to a clean house, a hot meal, and fed kitties. I’d even settle for clean litter boxes and fed kitties and takeout šŸ™‚ But, rather than sitting around all day, he would likely be working on his telescopes or taking hikes or reading and, thus, the house will probably look much the same when I come home as when I left it. I understand what you’re saying by needing “to accept that’s the way he is” since he’s been retired for a number of years and his lack of activity isn’t new to you. What I don’t understand is why he thinks it’s okay to not do anything all day and then expect you to cook, etc. after you’ve been working all week. Have you ever gone on strike, or just left him alone for a week to fend for himself?

    • I quit cooking regularly. And I quit doing his laundry. He is who he is (a product of his upbringing) and I’m not going to change that. I just get frustrated from time to time. Especially when I hear about women whose husbands cook. Warren’s idea of cooking is making a peanut butter sandwich.

      • Oh, I quit doing my husband’s laundry a long time ago. Not even sure why I did it in the first place šŸ˜‰ I’m very lucky that my husband can and does cook and do housework. I take most of the responsibility for the cats though. It cracks me up that whenever I go out of town and leave him to deal with the cats, the first thing he complains about is how much they poop and pee šŸ˜‰

  5. Hooray for Gal Pals!!!!!!!! I live for those times with my gal pals. I hope you have somewhat restful and happy thanksgiving weekend.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

