Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Well, what a crappy challenging interesting day.

The plan (I love plans when they work) was that I was going to make this egg casserole for breakfast for my key volunteers to say thank you. But it seems that wasn’t in the stars.

Up at 4:30 to get ready for work, make this egg casserole and have time to bake it. I put it all together. So far, so good. I took the easy way out and used potatoes already seasoned and cooked so the cooking time should be 20 minutes tops. Should and reality are very different words. Twenty minutes and the eggs are still runny. Not good. Turn up the oven. Another ten minutes and the eggs are still runny. Really not good. Turn the oven up to a temperature that probably shouldn’t be allowed. Now I’m down to the wire. I have a 25 minute drive to work where I have to unlock the office, turn on the coffee, get everything laid out and be ready for the meeting. Okay, another ten minutes and the eggs are still runny. Something is definitely not right.

I left for work screaming and saying nasty things. Runny egg casserole still at home in a now turned off oven.

But I calmed down. Got to work just before the first volunteer showed up. So, I put him to work helping me. Hey, he’s a volunteer and that’s what they do. Anyway, fortunately I had gotten plenty of fancy little bread things and rolls and fresh fruit that nobody was going to starve.

And that was just the beginning of my day. By 8:00 am I was on to other drama. And then I learned why you never ever ask what else could go wrong.

But I survived the day. I’m home ready to sleep for days with a throbbing head.

But I’m still thankful. I’m thankful for my foresight in getting fruit and breads. I’m thankful for my volunteers. I’m thankful it us a long weekend. I’m thankful for sleep aids that will help me sleep without waking up until a respectable hour (hopefully sometime after 7 am). I’m thankful I don’t have to cook tomorrow. In fact, I don’t have to do anything except take my dad out for lunch and watch football. I’m thankful that tomorrow us my holiday. Finally a day to match my blog title 😊

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Project – Best Laid Plans" (10)

  1. You’re pretty amazing to have kept your head with that. Well, I mean, obviously you’re amazing in general.
    I hope you’re able to get all kinds of uninterrupted sleep and that you have a wonderful day tomorrow (not cooking, being well rested, and having the day match your blog title). Then again, as for matching, you really do make every day Thanksgiving, and really . . . that’s what it’s about.
    🙂

  2. Just picked my son up from his job at a big grocer chain here in the valley – it is insanely busy!! Poor kid. Have a dandy holiday!

  3. that sucks your dish didn’t turn out. were they cooked by the time you got home? ~Gina

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

