Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Those fierce winds we had yesterday forced the cancellation of schools. County roads were drifted and dangerous. In fact, on my way home from work tonight, they were still snow covered and slick. Intersections were hazardous.

So, obviously, I didn’t have a snow day. But I gave my secretary the day off to stay home with her small children. I am happy that I can be flexible enough that she could stay home to take care of her children. I have a friend who spent her scheduled day off to babysit for her neighbor’s hyper active five year old because his preschool and day care were closed today.

I don’t know what parents are supposed to do if they have to work and they have young children. They can’t be left home alone. I don’t pay a lot in my office, but I can offer the flexibility for snow days.

Thankful that I can at least offer that.

More snow on the way tonight (at least it will only be a couple of inches). But really, I’m tired of winter already…and it hasn’t even arrived yet. 93 days until spring šŸ™‚

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Project – Snow day" (16)

  1. Keep counting them down…I know that I would, Brrrrrrr. šŸ™‚

  2. If I remember correctly from one of my office jobs, I was told that I give up vacation or sick time. Or I give up pay and get written up. On the other hand, another job said that I stay home without losing time off and get chances to make up the time.

  3. Oh nice. Good thing to be grateful for. šŸ™‚ Seriously, it has been colder than it normally is for Winter the last several weeks. I am right there with you for being tired of it. šŸ™‚

  4. This is why I don’t miss the north.

  5. 17 Nurses from my last employer were fired for not showing up during hurricane Charley. So sad. They had all been issued emergency road passes, but many were in homes with no roofs and small children. You are a good person Pamela šŸ™‚

  6. I come bearing gifts – I wish I could give you Spring……. http://words4jp.wordpress.com/2013/12/17/gratitude-and-appreciation/

    Please know that you do not have to accept – I realize you may not accept awards. I perfectly understand and mean no disrespect. I see these awards as gifts ā€“ gifts of appreciation and gratitude for your inspiration and the friendship you bring to my heart. xx

  7. Ditto over here! My daughter is hoping for a snow day because as a Senior she does not have to make it up. That wind was biting! What a great boss you are.

  8. Ever since I saw the weather forecast last Friday I had been planning carefully for a snow day on Monday. It was supposed to snow all weekend. We only got about 5 inches and yep, schools were opened. I was really looking forward to working from home! Anyway, I’m happy you’re able to offer a snow day to your staff. It’s hard for parents in this economy to just take an unscheduled day off!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

