Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

I love Florida

It has been a great day. Started with mimosas for breakfast (yes, multiple mimosas). Then we went to a huge, giant, really big flea market. We walked for miles (I swear it was at least 248 miles). My feet hurt and my legs are tired. But I was able to wear flip flops and a sundress. The sun was out some and it was breezy. Silly me, I didn’t pull my hair back so it took me about 20 minutes to comb out all the tangles.

After the flea market, we got home around 4:00 and have been sitting around. Except for my golf cart tour so I know how to get around next week. It is pouring rain tonight. I’m okay with that though. But hopefully tomorrow it will be dry.

So, I need to explain Barbie and my goofy pictures. A few years ago I took a nearly two week vacation to see my friend Vanessa in Delray Beach. We had so much fun. We laughed like crazy women. We were out with friends. We celebrated my birthday. I read and slept all day. It was my last day there and everyone wondered where all the pictures were. In fact I hadn’t taken any pictures. We decided to use her Barbie and illustrate everything we(I) had done. We had a blast with those pictures. We took pictures of Barbie laying on the raft in the pool, Barbie stalking the pool guy by hiding in a large plant, Barbie reading, Barbie going to Applebee’s to eat, Barbie playing darts, Barbie getting on the airplane, etc.

Well it ballooned from there. Every vacation I go on, people want to know if Barbie is going. Barbie has been on cruises and met lots of people. She certainly has been a conversation starter. I finally found a Barbie with red hair so she would look like me. I buy clothes for Barbie. I’ve even had gifts of Barbie shoes.

So, Barbie came on vacation with me. She was a hit at the flea market. The guy who sold me the new clothes for Barbie was amazed. He kept saying “her hair is the same color as yours!” Indeed it is.

I post pictures of Barbie on Facebook that pretty much documents my vacation. I rarely have pictures of me. And I forget to take pictures a lot. I’m sure I will have a picture or two of Barbie enjoying vacation that I will post on my blog. Perhaps even a picture of Barbie with Susan .

But today I’m thankful for 1) warm weather, 2) flip flops, 3) my golf cart tour to keep me from getting lost, 4) mimosas and good wine 5) Barbie and all the fun I have with her, and 6) the most awesome thing I found at the flea market (custom made so I won’t have pictures until I get home where it is being shipped. Oh, and 7) vacation in general.

I’m thankful for a lot today. How about you? What are you thankful for?

Comments on: "I love Florida" (17)

  1. Yay for warm weather! Are ya ready to move south now my friend? 🙂

  2. That Barbie story is great. I think stuff like that makes vacations even more fun. Looking forward to hearing more of your Florida adventures. Have fun.

  3. I will bring my Barbie to hang out with your Barbie in Sun City. It is highly unlikely that you will get your Barbie photographed with me unless you agree to let my Barbie get photographed with you.

  4. I am thankful for Barbie, the first hot blonde I ever saw. 🙂

  5. Wait…There was a real.pool boy?

  6. Thanks for the report from the front. Sounds like work, but someone has to do it. 🙂

  7. That is hilarious, Pam! Love that silliness in you! Real life and routines get so intense and serious it’s great to let go especially during vacation. Have a couple of mimosas for me – they are one of my faves.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

