Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

http://www.amazon.com/Mrs-Lincolns-Rival-Jennifer-Chiaverini-ebook/dp/B00FFFSXIG/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1390271633&sr=8-2&keywords=mrs.+lincoln%27s+rival

After having read Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker and absolutely loving it, I was anxious to read another book from the exact same time. The author has such a command of descriptions and the history and portrayed Kate Chase as a powerful political and social young woman. I would like to have gotten more of the rivalry between Miss Chase and Mrs. Lincoln though. The story follows Miss Chase and her father over several years.

I felt the book ended rather abruptly however. While it was a fairly long book, it could have had a more complete ending. This book wasn’t as good as Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker, but not from want of an interesting subject. It seemed to drag in a few spots, but only for a few pages. And, like I said, the ending was too abrupt for my liking.

Still, this was a good book with some very interesting passages. I do recommend the book.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

