Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Broken Record

I am sounding like a broken record. I’m really thankful for my heater. As I write this, it is already -9 degrees. Windchill is -27. Thermostat in the house is still on 60 degrees. And we normally keep it around 67 so you’d think it wouldn’t be that big of a difference. Well, it is. I laid my hand on the kitchen counter and it felt like ice. Warren was home all day. He said he’s tired of dressing like an Eskimo in the house.

And now they are asking us to conserve electricity. That’s a tall order. Kids are home from school bored. So televisions are on, video games going, computers…you get the idea. Plus, they have been encouraging the use of electric heaters. The one thing I’m thankful for…my electric heater…and now I’m supposed to conserve electricity? I wouldn’t have made a very good pioneer woman.

Schools are closed again tomorrow. Our county courthouse is even closed. These are inhumane temperatures. Dangerous even. I thought about closing my office but we have too much to do. I allow my secretary to stay home with her children when there is a delay or closure. But I can’t go much longer without her in the office. She said she would work something out tomorrow. Even if it’s only for a few hours. So, since she is willing to make the effort, I will keep the office open. Maybe I will take her out for lunch.

Back to broken records though. We are about to break a record. We are two tenths of an inch away from breaking the record of snowiest January. Since it is supposed to snow on Thursday, it is likely to happen. We are also going to be close to breaking a record for the lowest temp tonight. I hope not, but it could happen.

Broken records, in two ways. But at least I have my heater.

Comments on: "Broken Record" (8)

  1. Man that’s brutal!

  2. I admit that I never understood the call for conservations during inhumane conditions. Negative temps and limit heat? Far too dangerous.

  3. Hi there. My temps are the same -9 and -29 windchill

  4. Oops I hit sent too soon. The Internet had been funky all day. Probably frozen. I have my heat turned down to 59. Fortunately I have my big three legged heater. But I do have her under covers to stay warm. Yuck.

  5. That’s way too cold. Bet you’re looking forward to Spring. I know I would be.

  6. My pug has always warmed my toes. He’s so sweet. You’re welcome to my heater, as I have no use for it. 🙂 I feel for you!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

