Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

It’s Hard

It’s hard to find things to be thankful for when there is so much snow and the roads were absolutely treacherous.  But, I did anyway.

I’m thankful that one of my staff members’ husbands brought her to work and shoveled out our doors – the snow was waist high and very heavy. And, of course, the shovel was on the inside and just getting into the door was difficult.

I’m thankful that a friend’s office had closed and she could have lunch with me today (plus she bought!)

I’m thankful I made it home safely and even got back in the driveway tonight. Although the driveway was starting to drift shut again. Who knows what it will be like in the morning, but one day at a time.

I’m thankful that the idiot semi driver behind me didn’t hit me. Here is what happened: I was driving to work, following a semi who was following a huge tractor. Soon another semi came up behind me. I already get freaked out by semis in the winter because about 20 years ago I was in a 17 car/semi pileup on the interstate when there was a chain reaction caused by black ice and one semi hit my car under another semi. Anyway, so idiot semi obviously was traveling too fast or not paying attention or maybe just being an idiot. I have a mini van and I could see that there was a tractor in front of the semi in front of me. So, I’m pretty sure the huge semi following me could see that too. Well, when the truck in front of me slowed down, I slowed down – it seemed like the logical thing to do. But the idiot truck behind me just kept getting closer to my bumper and then I thought he was stupid enough that he was going to try and pass us all. But then the tractor, with his turn signals on, turned left. Idiot truck behind me had to stop quickly (fortunately in the passing lane) and I thought he was going to jackknife. As long as he didn’t hit me, I would have laughed. He deserved it. But he pulled it out and was a good boy and slowed down and pulled back in behind me. Idiot. But I’m thankful I didn’t get hit.

I’m also thankful that a project I’ve been working on is nearly done. I may stay home and work from home tomorrow since I may have trouble getting out early anyway. Schools are closed again and I know why since the roads were absolutely awful coming home tonight.

I am NOT thankful for all the snow and I’m definitely NOT going to be thankful for the subzero temps we are going to have the next week.

Oh, yeah, I almost forgot. I’m really thankful I’m not in Sochi for the Olympics. It sounds like they are so unready to host. It is a slap in the face to athletes who have trained their whole lives for this moment. And it doesn’t sound particularly safe for observers or journalists either. I think my view from television will be just fine.

 

Comments on: "It’s Hard" (5)

  1. I just started reading Sochi stories and it looks like a mess. Glad to hear your made it to work and back in one piece.

  2. That was a treacherous roadway adventure. Glad you are safe. 🙂 I haven’t read Sochi yet. I like all spectator sports from the comfort of my home. I am short and I see better.

  3. I still blame the groundhog for all of this. All of it.

  4. The Olympics seem to be a complete fail this time, so sad. Some athletes are bowing out because of dangerous conditions. Semi drivers are morons. Not all of them of course, but I have been tailgated, spit on with chewing tobacco and almost recently run into a cement island in the middle of a busy road here in Vegas. Morons. Try to stay warm. Every day passing brings you one day closer to your next holiday and the end of winter after that.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

