Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Let me start with the Ugly so I can put it behind me. Typical Valentine Day. Warren has no concept of what it is supposed to be. After nearly twenty years, you’d think I was used to that. But I’m not. He ate dinner before I got home (and I was home shortly after 6 pm). So, I got my favorite pizza. Z-Place. When I ordered and it was a 45 minute wait, he couldn’t figure out why. I said “first of all it’s a Friday night and second of all, IT’S VALENTINE’S DAY!” (Yes, I shouted!) All he said was, “So?” I throw up my hands. Again, I should be used to it. No acknowledgement of the day whatsoever.

The Bad. Well, it really wasn’t bad. But it was disappointing. We had this Volunteer Appreciation Chocolate reception today. It was our first time doing this. Over 70 volunteers were invited. My staff made chocolate goodies. We had a chocolate fountain with several things to dip. We made up mugs with hot cocoa mix for each person who showed up. And we had a drawing for a Vera Bradley weekender bag and cosmetic bag. Sounds good, right? It was lovely…..for the TWELVE people who showed up. Only one of my board members even made an appearance. I wouldn’t call it a failure. I am saying we need to do a better job next year of getting higher attendance.

The Good. I got my new iPad Air today!!!! Still don’t quite have it organized the way I want, but I’m using it right now. Plus, big bonus! I have a pending offer on my old iPad. I love the iPad Air. I’m glad I opted for the full size instead of the mini. With the new dimensions, it is actually both smaller and lighter weight than the iPad 3. Yet it still has the same full size screen.

The other good thing is that Indianapolis picked up several inches of snow today, rather unexpectedly. And it didn’t get this far north. Finally, snows that are missing us.

So, let’s recap. Today I’m thankful for the missed snow. I’m thankful for the sale of my old iPad. I’m thankful my new iPad Air arrived (and I love it!). I’m thankful for my volunteers who showed up today. Actually, I’m thankful for each of my volunteers who give of their time and their heart. I’m thankful Valentine’s Day is only one day a year and that it is nearly over.

I think today was a good day. How was your day?

Comments on: "The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly" (12)

  1. It was a day like any other. Congrats on your new iPad Air! 🙂

  2. Great news you missed the new snow, more is forecast for the east. And I am glad you chose the full size Air Pamela, I know you will love the device. I use mine every day, and it’s basically like taking my iMac on the road. Hope you have the Verizon/ATT version. 🙂

  3. John, I had the 4G version before. No way could I give that up. But I opted for the 64GB – I’m happy

  4. I love my iPad mini, but I have heard rave reviews from friends who have the iPad air, I’m sure you will have lots of fun with it. As for Valentines day, it’s just another day I guess sometimes the hype is what let’s us down.

  5. I had a work Christmas party like that once. We told the restaurant we would be having a large party, so they brought in extra staff. 4 of us showed up. The restaurant was not happy with us, lol.

    Yay for the iPad Air!! 😀

  6. My V-Day is play by play on Facebook….I was crying for support. Babysitting a 10 month old who has separation anxiety. Thank God his older sister was such a good girl. else, well…it wouldn’t be pretty. Sorry about the slow show. Glad for the no snow. {{{HUGS}}} There are pluses and minuses to having a sensitive man in your life. (we can chat about that later). Enjoy the AIR!

  7. Happy Air Pad, Favorite Pizza, No Snow Day. I guess the good side on the chocolate is you had a lot of leftovers. Trying to find the good side in the Warren story. Nope can’t find it. *hug*

  8. I’m with John … can’t find the good in the Warren story. And I don’t buy that you need to accept Warren as he is. No growth after 17 years? The man is lucky you come home to him at all.
    OK, off my soap box and on to, Congrats on the new iPad Air, no snow, and lots of chocolate 🙂

  9. Congrats on the new iPad air! Yaay! No snow? Yaay!

    My husband is allergic to anything romantic and so does not acknowledge Valentine’s day either. At some point during the night I said Happy Valentine’s Day to the children and then to him. You’d think I had insulted him. I, too, should be used to it by now, but still not.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

