Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

The love of my life

Nothing quite went according to plan today.

I drove to Toledo to pick Andrea and Soren up from the bus. Yes, I know they could have brought the bus all the way into Fort Wayne, but 1) I wanted to spend more time with them and 2) they would have had a long layover and wouldn’t have gotten there as fast as if I had driven it.

But, Andrea forgot to bring Soren’s car seat. So the first thing we had to do was go buy a new one. Sounds simple, right? Never. Found a Target only a few miles away. But then, we I ended up buying her a new phone. Her screen was so cracked I worried she would cut her finger and Target had them on sale for half price. Birthday shopping done! Finally done and ready to hit the road.

GPS set. I should have just backtracked and reversed. Instead it wanted me to get on the interstate for a few miles. No problem…well, except for the fact that all three lanes were a parking lot. No way was I getting in that mess. So, after a little maneuvering, we got back to the highway I drove over on.

I took Andrea to her favorite Mexican restaurant in Fort Wayne. Dinner at last at 7:00 pm. I expected to be done with dinner, taken time to see my dad and home by then. Oh well. Finally home (without seeing my dad) at 8:45.

Christmas packages opened. Soren loved his gifts. There is no joy like that of a young child on Christmas, even if it doesn’t happen until February. And he had made me a special plastercraft hand print. It made me cry

Finally bedtime. But not until we had story time. I said two stories. Soren said three. He got three stories. Then he promptly snuggled up next to me and closed his eyes. But not until he told me he loved me to the moon and back.

I’m in heaven.

Comments on: "The love of my life" (9)

  1. Sounds like you all had a fun time together! šŸ™‚

  2. This is so precious! šŸ™‚

  3. Sounds like an adventure. Can you set your GPS to avoid traffic? Mine does that, but it isn’t always the smartest thing. Such as trying to take me through Canada when I’m leaving New Jersey.

    • I did the old fashioned thing and looked at a map! I was really close so I knew I could get there. Plus my daughter hates voice guidance. And that’s all I use. But my car, my rules šŸ˜‰

      • I tend to look at the route and get an idea of where I’m going before leaving. I only trust the GPS so much after a few of its attempts to get me either arrested or killed. For example, telling me to make a U-Turn through a highway barrier. I had to explain how physical objects can’t share the same space without things getting messy.

      • A little common sense goes a long way

  4. Sounds like a delightful time – what a sweetie. Have a great day today!

  5. It sure does sound heavenly, Pam! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

