Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Proud Moment

I feel so proud and yet so humbled today.

A few years ago I hired a secretary who wanted part time while she was in college. She was the sweetest thing ever and beyond competent. One day she came to me and told me she had been approached by a large company (where her dad and grandpa worked coincidentally) about a job. She applied. I gave her a glowing recommendation because she deserved it. She got the job. Oh, did I mention the man who approached her was one of my board members? I wasn’t happy about that part. But it was a great opportunity for her.

Fast forward a couple of months. I hired someone new that has worked out great. But Shelby (the one who quit) hated her new job. She has been severely under-utilized. But I had already replaced her. I couldn’t do anything. She has continued to look for other opportunities but hasn’t found anything she wanted. She is about to graduate though.

Fast forward to today. We have stayed in close contact, having dinner every few months. I adore her. The board member who stole her from me was fired a couple of months ago and things evidently aren’t getting better. She texted me today asking my advice as a mentor. I told her what I thought but from both sides so she could still make up her mind herself.

But I’m just so honored that she thinks enough of me to ask what I think. I’m thankful for her and glad I could be around to help clear something up in her head.

Comments on: "Proud Moment" (5)

  1. Wow, I hope your friend gets the job she hoped for…

  2. Hope things work out for her. Great that she has you to talk to.

  3. Gosh. I know you must feel bad for her. It’s a shame you couldn’t get the powers that be to let you have two secretaries or a personal assistant. I hope something works out for her. You are a good friend (but we know that 🙂 ).

  4. I think that’s great!

  5. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    YOU MUST HAVE IMPRESSED HER, TOO!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

