Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

I need help

I don’t know if I just have a mental block about this, or if it really is something that is difficult. But sometimes I think WordPress is not very intuitive. Let me explain

Here’s what I am trying to do – I know I’ve seen it on other blogs (but for the life of me can’t find any of those to ask them directly). I want to add a phrase at the bottom of every post on my poetry blog with copyright information. But I don’t want to copy and paste it every time since I’m usually on my phone or iPad. It seems like it should be easy enough to set up a template.

That’s where I’m stuck. I have searched. I have read. I have watched tutorial videos. I still don’t get the page template thing or where it even is. I know some of you out here are really smart with setting these things up – no names, but, um, Green Embers does pop into my head. Do I need to pay for an upgrade to get that functionality?

Help please – thank you.

Comments on: "I need help" (9)

  1. I couldn’t find anything about a signature in my settings. I found this on the WP help forums:

    http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/how-to-customize-a-post-format-to-include-standard-signature-elements?replies=2

    Looks like people do copy/paste or something else, but it isn’t a WordPress function.

  2. I’m on your side of the fence with the not knowing so I’m just gonna watch and hope someone answers you asap 🙂
    Good luck! (I’ll be lurking to find out the answer too lol :D)
    xox ❤

  3. Chris is another you could ask. I know he has a line about his authorship and books under each posts.

  4. Wish I could help you, Pam!

  5. Yeah, this one is tricky. This is what I would do. First thing is create a special post called Template. Then I would write the HTML footer for the bottom of the post. Then I would publish it as a private post. (That way no one can see it).

    Then when writing future posts, I would choose the Copy Post Button (watch more here: http://greenembers.wordpress.com/2013/11/15/blogging-how-to-more-tag-and-copy-post-button/ on that).

    Then when ready to publish your real draft, remember to change it to public and schedule it for when you want. I use the copy post button all the time, it’s one my favorite features now.

  6. You might be able to create a Widget, that is on the side of each post and/or page, much like counters, images, lists etc. using Dashboard/Appearance/Widgets/Text. That way, although not ‘in’ each post, it is ‘with’ each post. Also, I do like the idea of the template as mentioned above.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

