Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Blue Funk

I’ve really been in a blue funk lately. Here’s just some of what’s been bothering me:

My daughter witnessed a brutal mugging/attack in her neighborhood. Now, I’m very proud of her for being the only (out of several) witness to call 911 and give a statement to the police. But, as a mom, I’m worried to death now. I wish she could afford to move to a safer neighborhood or out of Cleveland entirely. I feel like I’m always making up an excuse to be sure I hear from her every night. I hate worrying.

I was originally planning on going to see her and Soren tomorrow. But my car has been acting weird and I didn’t want to get stranded on the road, or worse in the ‘hood in Cleveland. I really miss them and want to see them in a bad way. Hopefully soon. The problem is that she is so busy with photo shoots and shows on weekends, that it is hard to find a day to go over.

Work has been busy. It’s budget time and that is never fun for a non-numbers person like me.

I’ve really been missing my mom lately. Nothing in particular, just everything. She drove me absolutely batty when she was alive and I did everything I could to avoid her many times. But I loved her and could always talk to her.

But, I’m determined to crawl out of this mood. The sun has been shining and it is hopefully starting to warm up a bit. I have tomorrow off and my plan is to try and get some exercise. Hopefully that will help. But then I just want to sit in the sun (if there is any, I heard rain was in the forecast by morning) and read. At a minimum, I hope to get my deck furniture all put out and washed off so I’m ready if it ever is nice enough.

I haven’t been very good at finding those things to be thankful for lately. But today I’m thankful I at least have the beginning of a plan to turn this around.

Comments on: "Blue Funk" (12)

  1. You will get out of this funk. I know you will. 🙂

  2. (((HUGS))) Muggings are scary, I’m glad your daughter is okay and good for her. I completely understand about not wanting to travel when the car is acting funny. I was just thinking of my dad the other night.

    Yay for a plan in turning it around! (((HUGS)))

  3. Hope you get to enjoy good weather. Sorry to hear about your daughter seeing such a crime.

  4. My goodness! I’m sorry to hear about the mugging and your daughter. Difficult start of the year for her…
    I hope you do get the deck furniture out. I just finished washing our balcony swing cushions – where I intend to spend Saturday!
    Ellespeth

  5. So sorry Andrea had to witness such terror. Powerlessness to help our children and grandchildren out of a bad situation has got to be one of the worse feelings a mother can have. Wishing you warm days of sunshine and peace.

  6. You’re daughter’s safe, and a life full of opportunity is ahead. Enjoy the moment of preparing the deck furniture for some relaxing times to come.

  7. I hope you feel better soon Pamela. Can daughter come live with you? Sorry she had to see such a dark side of our specie, live. I have punishments for such crime but it’s not politically correct to hand out real, actual punishment these days.

  8. So scary about your daughter’s neighborhood. We worry and suffer soooo much for and with our kids. It will be like this until the day we die. Sigh. I hope the sun shines and you get to chill out on your deck. I survived my own version of a blue funk (night) last night thanks to vino, puzzles, twitter buddies like you and SCANDAL. Phew! 🙂

  9. Sending hugs your way, Pam – I hope the sun shines down on you and helps the funk dry up and fade away.

  10. Sometimes life sucks and it is hard to find anything to be particularly happy and grateful about, but we are grateful that you are here and that you take these moments to include us all in your life. I know I am.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

