Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Family reconnected

I had a really busy day at work today. It was crazy, but good. Then I got home and found out Warren wouldn’t get home until 11 pm. So, I did the only logical thing…I texted my cousin Jenny and asked if they wanted to meet me for dinner.

They did. And we all felt like drowning our sorrows. So, the three if us split two pitchers of margaritas. I can’t remember the last time I drank that much. But we had so much fun. Laughter was the best medicine. And believe me, I needed it tonight.

I got the insurance bill from my recent hospital visit. It was over $10,000. I was expecting it to be close, but this took it over the top. To put this in perspective, I pay $18,000 a year for my insurance with a $10,000 deductible. Looks like I will be paying this off the rest of my life. It’s crazy. But at least I’m not dead.

Tonight I’m thankful I’m slice and worrying about how to pay for all of the stuff (not that much really) to keep me alive. But mostly I’m thankful for reconnecting with my cousin. She has become like a sister to me. She and her husband are so much fun and I love them so much.

And I’m thankful for all the margaritas. I wonder if I will still be thankful for those in the morning when the alarm goes off at 5:30 am.

Comments on: "Family reconnected" (9)

  1. Sorry to hear about that bill. Medical debt is such a pain that they’ll probably find a way to bill us for. Envious of your margarita party.

  2. The insurance industry in this country is just vile. Glad you are feeling much better Pamela, and yay for good times and booze with good friends. My wife allows me a few beers once per month. Sounds bad but she keeps me in line. Two pitchers? Whoa!

  3. Yay! Margaritas! Glad you guys had fun!

  4. Thank Goodness for Margaritas! Ay! Sounds like a great way to drown your sorrows. Yikes on the insurance bill, it’s just not right.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

