Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Father’s Day

What a wonderful day I had. I was so tired this morning that I got home, ate breakfast and read the paper. Then immediately put in my swim suit and laid in my lounge chair on the deck in the sun. It was cool but I didn’t care. I napped off and on from 8:30 to 11:30. Then it was time to get on the treadmill (day 38) and shower to get ready for our family gathering.

It was a wonderful day. Dad loved seeing everyone. He stayed longer than he usually does. And my uncle and aunt stayed even longer than that. Then my cousin came back with a bottle of wine tonight.

My dad seems so much more relaxed and I’m glad he had a good time. He told me tonight again how nice it was. We definitely need to plan another gathering soon.

I was disappointed in my three nieces though. They brought a laptop and sat off to themselves. They are anti-social on good days so that made it worse. I have little patience with that.

Tonight dad and I started going through some closets and drawers. We have our work cut out for us in the next few weeks. I figure since I’m going to be here every night, I might as well take a couple of hours to do some things.

Tonight I’m thankful my dad is still around. I’m thankful we had a good time today. I’m thankful he seems so happy. I love my dad more than anything in the world. I’m cherishing every moment and every memory.

Comments on: "Father’s Day" (7)

  1. Glad the day was good – can someone take the social stuff and laptop away from these kids? they are doing themselves a disservice in doing what they did. That family won’t always be there.

  2. Glad you and your father had a good Father’s Day. What would happen if you turned off the Internet while the nieces were there? I have a family member or two who I don’t think I’ve talked to during the last few gatherings because they sit with their iPhone and iPad chatting on-line. Makes me wonder what the next generation will be. Not showing up at all or sending a hologram/robot double in their place?

  3. That’s wonderful, Pam! I am glad he is relaxed and feeling good about things. Regarding the nieces with a laptop, it is definitely an age thing. I go crazy when my kids check their phones when we have company and I yell at them about it! You are doing so well on your exercise plan, 38 days!! Fantastico!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

