Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Update

Thanks for hanging in there with me. I promise I will get back to a consistent blogging schedule soon. But here is where things are today:

We are really pushing to move dad on July 22.

I feel like I have a toddler. Dad is rebelling against the loss of control and independence. Every day is a new battle with him. He knows though he has pushed about as far as he can. Tonight he started in on the realtor. Keep in mind that he chose her. I had nothing at all in that decision. So tonight he says he doesn’t think he likes her. There have been four separate showings in a week I said. He countered with “she didn’t show it four times”. Just a typical night.

But at least the end is in sight. I’ve been sleeping on the couch for four long weeks. I’m ready. Only 13 days. Not that I’m counting. But 13 days.

On a brighter note, my daughter called freaked out because Soren has a loose tooth. She says she isn’t ready to deal with that yet. Hahahaha! Grandma needs to send money for the Tooth Fairy to leave under his pillow.

Comments on: "Update" (12)

  1. Wait… you’re the tooth fairy?!? Haha! Your daughter has so much ahead of her, doesn’t she? 🙂
    Glad you’re seeing an end to the madness. I just saw a realtor yesterday for my mother’s place. Just waiting for her to start picking holes…
    Keep hanging in there Pamela. You can get through this. Then you can cheer me on. 😛

  2. Does inflation affect the tooth fairy? Good luck with the realtor.

  3. How interesting that you are basically dealing with two toddlers. Your grandson and your dear father! This is the reason they call it the sandwich generation and you are right smack in between the two slices of bread!

    It takes so much patience with our aging parents doesn’t it. Mr. B’s father just turned 90 and he continues to get even more stubborn by the day. Hang in there, try to get some quality sleep (somehow) and soon all will be ok in the world. 🙂

  4. Oh thank goodness for Soren and new eyes on life!
    Glad to hear things progress with your dad…
    Ellespeth

  5. Sue Nunemaker said:

    I feel your pain. My 51 year old cousin in California has gotten herself evicted from yet another care facility because she refuses to obey the rules. So now she is calling me multiple times per day crying because she can’t be released from the hospital. She has COPD but refuses to quit smoking. And every time she doesn’t get her way, she either threatens to commit suicide or runs away from the facility. Maybe we need to get together for that wine!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

