Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Tonight I’ve decided that I’ve been a Debbie Downer for far too long. Sure, I’m tired. Sure, I’m stressed. Sure, I’m ready for this to be behind me.

But, it could be a lot worse. I could be making funeral arrangements instead of nursing home/Medicaid arrangements.

What I want to talk about tonight though are all the things I appreciate most now that I don’t have them.

1. Being able to put on my pajamas in the evenings when I know I’m in for the night. And you men won’t understand this but I’m sure the women will. I appreciate being able to take off my bra. Instead I’m still in my work clothes until after 10:00 pm

2. Having my electronic devices near me and able to charge conveniently. Instead I have to crawl over the back of the couch to find a plug every night.

3. Being able to shut the curtains to shut out the morning light. I’m sleeping on the couch and it is in front of a large window with only sheer curtains.

4. Sleeping in past 6:15 just one morning. Of course it would be difficult with the light (see #3). I hate to complain about volunteers but the morning guy gets here at 6:30. Home health doesn’t arrive until 7:00 so there is no need for him to be here so early.

5. I’ve never professed to be a morning person. But I never really thought I was a grump in the morning either. I’ve found that I am. It’s because I usually have at least an hour before I have to talk to anybody. Now I’m lucky if I gave five minutes. But the good news is, I haven’t bitten anyone’s head off or injured anyone yet.

I’m hoping all of this will be behind me soon. I really don’t know how I will cope if we can’t get dad moved at the beginning of August. I guess my sister will have to actually spend some time here (don’t get me wrong, she is here about 45-60 minutes a day).

Comments on: "Appreciating what you miss" (8)

  1. I hope this difficult time is short-lived. It is no wonder you are feeling tired and cranky. I hope you can take some time for yourself during the day to recharge.

  2. Sue Nunemaker said:

    Have you suggested to the morning guy that he could come later? Hang in there, and if I need to loan you an extension cord, let me know!

  3. Vent all you want Pam, we’ll listen ;). Glad no one has been “harmed” during this process. 😍😍

  4. I can relate to the boobs issue – i do hope the girls get some relief soon;). Hang in there – oops – they can’t hang in – not yet – try and handle the binding a wee bit longer;)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

