Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Home stretch

FINALLY! I never thought I would be so happy to say my dad is eligible for Medicaid.

It has been EIGHT long weeks. I haven’t had one single night in a bed in that time. I’ve been here 12 hours a day on weekdays and close to 18 hours a day on weekends.

It’s a circus here. Always someone coming and going. They are here to help but tired of people. Tired of activity. I just need to be left alone.

Lots has been happening. Let me give you the highlights.

I went to see dad’s room yesterday. He is scheduled to move in on Monday. He had requested a single room. As much as I can’t handle people around all the time, he’s ten times worse. My worst fear was there wouldn’t be any single rooms open. And there aren’t. He is in a double room. With a roommate. Telling him was sheer agony. He spiraled downward very quickly. He asked to be put in bed early. He didn’t sleep. I heard deep sighs from him all through the night.

The girl we pay to get him out of bed called at 6:30 this morning. She was sick and wouldn’t be here. Yikes. I called Warren to see if he could help but he was already out of town. I called another guy. He didn’t answer his phone. Finally called my sister. She isn’t supposed to lift but I needed to leave for work early. She was in bed. But I guess I’ve been doing this long enough that I don’t care. It’s her turn. I have a contingency plan for tomorrow if this girl is still sick.

So much more happening but I won’t bore you with it all now. Just moving ahead finally.

I’m tired. No, I’m exhausted. I’m worn out. But we are in the home stretch.

Comments on: "Home stretch" (9)

  1. Definitely sounds like the home stretch. Hoping the move goes smoothly.

  2. Yay! Progress is progress 🙂

  3. Glad you’re seeing the light at the end of the proverbial tunnel. I’m with you in spirit, Pamela.

  4. When our parents went down hill the only thought that kept me going was the fact that I was in some way repaying their care when I was in the same situation as a child. Didn’t help the situation just my outlook. Hope it goes well.

  5. Oh, Pam. So glad to hear that as painful as it has been, there is progress now! I cannot wait until he is settled in and you can have your life and bed back. xo

  6. I would give you a hug if I could. (Only if you would want one, of course.)
    *computer hugs*

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

