Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Update on dad

Dad is finally getting used to nursing home life. His roommate is rarely around, although the guy gets up a little before 4 A.M.!!!!!! Who knew there were people who got up that early. Of course, he also goes to be between 6 and 7 pm. They think they have the tv remote situation taken care of finally.

While dad seems in good spirits, he told me tonight to take something back to his house to keep it. Uh, the house is for sale and we are busy emptying it out. I think he still has it in the back of his mind that he can go home. He can’t. There is no one to take care of him.

But he is eating and sleeping good. And getting therapy. But other than that he doesn’t leave his room. He truly could be a hermit.

The road between my house and the nursing home is closed in two places. It adds several minutes to my trip. I will be glad when they get the construction done.

I’m going to try and get back on the Thanksgiving schedule and post daily again.

Today I’m thankful dad is being taken care of by a wonderful staff. I’m also thankful that his house is nearly emptied (the garage sale is another matter). And I’m thankful for Adobe Voice. I put together a book trailer for my poetry. I think it turned out pretty good. Check it out and let me know what you think. http://voice.adobe.com/v/USjFF45ByPZ

Comments on: "Update on dad" (7)

  1. It’s great to hear there will be people around the block to care for his needs, cheers to great news! 🙂

  2. Good to know your dad is taken care of now, such relief for the both of you. Will the home go on the MLS?

  3. That voice trailer was really neat! I’m glad your dad is doing okay and being cared for. Gosh and I hope the construction finishes quickly (I hate construction).

  4. Your trailer is great Pamela – love your accent! Your books are next on my TBR list too.

  5. That is good news ! ! Your Dad has settled down nicely.

  6. Thank you for the update, I have been thinking about you and your dad. I am sure it will be quite the adjustment period trying to get used to having a roommate, especially since he prefers to be on his own. Happy for you that you can have some piece of mind knowing he is taken care of and safe.

    Pam, I LOVE the voice adobe! You have the most calming voice I have ever heard! This is perfect! You are unbelievable! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

