Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Day One

Garage sale is over for the first day. We sold quite a bit of stuff. We still have way too much to sell though.

I’m tired. And dealing with various personalities without losing my temper has been tough. For instance, my sister was supposed to bring the dulcimer we had on consignment at a local store. She is the one who lives in town. She took it to this store in the first place. So it was only logical she would bring it. I told her I advertised it. I reminded her to pick it up. She didn’t bring it and someone was very interested.

Now I suppose if they were interested, they will be back. That isn’t the point. The point is that if you want to sell a high dollar item that has limited appeal, you need to actually have the item on hand.

My dad was not happy. I was furious. We both bit our tongues.

That was just one incident. I could give you several.

But the good news is that the day is over. We sold a lot of junk priceless treasures. Tomorrow will be even better since it is the weekend.

I’m tired. I was on my feet the entire day. Remember, I’m an introvert and the constant interacting with people is draining.

Then I went to see my dad tonight after going out for pizza. He needs more candy. His candy dishes were getting empty. He likes to keep his nurses and CNA’s happy.

I must rest up for another grueling day tomorrow. At least we have had perfect weather. It was HOT finally, with a nice breeze. Loved it. Cooling off 15 degrees tomorrow so I won’t be as happy about that.

Lots to be thankful for today. Weather. Sales. Pizza. Getting rid of stuff.

Comments on: "Day One" (9)

  1. Good luck tomorrow. Garage sales can be rather stressful due to the personalities. Now I have this urge to get some candy.

  2. Bless his heart, he’s sharing….take him candy. Having pizza for supper, brought to me (rather late) by the RS who is at a meeting. 😦

  3. Glad to hear you got rid of a lot of stuff. Are you willing to give what you don’t sell to charity? We follow that rule which says that nothing can come back IN the house after a sale. Plus, you have NO house to put it into! 🙂 Glad your dad is doing well. 🙂

  4. Good luck. You are a better person than me.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

