Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Horror of Horrors

I guess it is that time of year already. I saw a house that was decorated for Halloween last night – complete with Jack O’Lanterns. Ugh

First of all, it is only the 14th of September – not even October yet. Second of all, I am really not a fan of fall anything. Third of all, I don’t like Halloween.

I don’t like that it seems all the prompts in October are around horror. I love Stephen King’s early books. I really love them and read them over and over again. But I hate horror. I know. That doesn’t make sense. But horror for the sake of horror seems stupid to me.

So, I think I will stick my hand in the sand and ignore everything until Halloween is over. It just seemed to start even earlier this year.

On a brighter note, I got to see my grandson yesterday for a very short visit. We built skyscrapers with blocks. We even built a car with his blocks. Then he was off to another activity where he could burn off some energy. Where does all that energy come from? He showed off what he has learned in school by playing a letter game with me. And, of course, we sang the Days of the Week song about a jillion times. I love that little guy so much and wish they lived closer so I could afford (gas money and time) to see him more often. I’m going to need to make a trip over by the first of November though (maybe I can avoid Halloween that way). By the way, he is going to be an astronaut for Halloween – I’m sure he will be cute as everything.

Comments on: "Horror of Horrors" (7)

  1. Ok, you scared me with that title! I thought something “horrible” had happened! Don’t do that again, you hear? 🙂 I love that your grandson is not going to be anything scary for Halloween. How adorable. I don’t love Halloween but I am not crazy about the color orange. It doesn’t go with anything in my house! 🙂

  2. I think around here a reason for the push for Halloween has to do with local pumpkin crops. At least that’s what someone said because mostly we’re seeing pumpkin painting and picking places. Then again, as I said on Facebook, I’ve already begun seeing Christmas stuff around here.

    I think Halloween falls into the same category as Valentine’s Day. You either love it or you hate it, but it seems to last a month.

  3. Halloween right now I can deal with, but in places outside of the U.S. they are already singing Christmas songs and have Christmas decorations up. O.O Now that is far far too early!

  4. I have seen Christmas stuff in Hobby Lobby since June. Rushing things a bit.

  5. We’ve had Halloween decorations/costumes here for sale in work since Monday last week. I also saw that a really high end boutique here in Ireland called Brown Thomas has had their Christmas Tree all lit up since mid-August!

  6. It’s like Christmas. The advertising begins far too early. And the real reason for Christmas is ignored. Holidays make me cynical. Such an old fart party pooper aye?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

