Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Off Topic

This may be a bit off topic. But I’ve been wondering about some things as I read blogs. I try to always visit the “About” page of new blogs. And really people, if you don’t have an about page, you need one. How else will we learn about you – not just about what you’ve written.

Anyway, I am feeling woefully inadequate these days. I think I’m a pretty interesting individual – but then I read some of these “about” pages and see that other people are doing so many things. Sure, I could put in my page that I am a musician (vocals and keys), but I only dabble in it these days. I could say that I enjoy interior design, but it’s only my own home. I could say that fashion is important to me, but, again, it is really only for my own enjoyment. I could say that I am a crocheter/cross stitcher, but I really don’t do that much anymore. I do write poetry, but still have trouble saying I’m a writer/author. I’m not a pet owner, my daughter is grown, I only have one job and I spend my spare time reading.

I’m truly not a boring person though. I have a lot of friends, I enjoy football (okay, maybe enjoy isn’t a strong enough word), I love concerts/plays/lectures, I spend time with my elderly father as I can and visit with my daughter and grandson (but they don’t live close enough to see often), I love summer and being outdoors (even if it is just sitting with a book). And speaking of books, they transport me to different worlds with different people. I am very content. I love to laugh as much (or more) as the next person. So why am I feeling inadequate? I guess I don’t really have an answer for that. Maybe I just don’t talk about myself enough (or I don’t lie on my resume).

But maybe it is time to spruce up my “about” page. I’ve done several author interviews lately and I always feel a little uncomfortable talking about myself and what I do. Trust me, I’m not boring and I don’t just sit around and do nothing all the time. I have a full life with more interests than time. So, what do I put in my “about” page? Leave it as it is or build up my personal resume?

Oh, and by the way, if YOU don’t have an “about” page, why not?

Comments on: "Off Topic" (4)

  1. Hi. I think you’ve started writing your “About” page right here. I like what you wrote on this post. I like those that are not run of the mill. I think mine’s run of the mill. I wrote and rewrite mine a bunch of times; I always felt like I was bragging. But — maybe a little bit is all right in an “About” page. (Is bragging only a matter of perception and interpretation? I don’t know.) I do believe “Abouts” are important because, as you said, how else do we get to know an author, for authors are not one-dimensional.

    • Mine makes me sound boring and old and stodgy. I just looked at your about page and you sound very clever…and interesting without being an over exaggerated statement of you.

  2. I enjoyed ‘getting to know you,’ Pamela, here. I am impressed you have books written! I think this is wonderful! I enjoyed reading about your interests and hobbies. This can be helpful since some people may want to just read blogs about people with similar interests. I tend to follow a wide variety of posts, since I am constantly interested in learning about the world. Just because I am not in school, doesn’t mean my brain needs to turn to mush, I remind myself while I try to figure out an intricate process or something technical which means I need to pay attention! I liked this beginning of an About page, maybe just start over if you wish. I had someone mistakenly feel I was the age I started my blog, but clearly needed to ‘update’ the age every year! Smiles, Robin

  3. I actually only recently have made my Home page on Wee Bit Wordy and Dean’z Doodlez my About page. I think that way people can decide straight away whether they’re going to like what’s on the blog.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

