Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Something New

I’m going to start something new for this blog.

Monday is already my weight loss journey. Tuesday-Friday are my regular Thanksgiving days. Effective immediately I am not going to be posting on Saturday and Sundays. That will give me totally free weekends.

So I got to my dad’s today and the first thing he says to me is “I have been thinking.” I have decided people need to quit thinking. It usually means that you have come up with a dumb idea or one that involves me doing stuff.

But I smiled and asked what he’d been thinking. Well, it seems that dear old dad, who can’t do a single thing for himself, has decided that he wants to rearrange his half of the room at the nursing home. That, in and of itself, is not a terrible thing. What makes it terrible is that a) he can’t do a thing to help; b) he has a five shelf bookcase with his vast eagle collection on it that will have to be dismantled; and c) there is a built in desk and closet that can’t be moved. So, I’m not even sure it is even possible.

I promised that when I went in the morning I would bring a tape measure so I could measure and see what can be done. Gotta love my dad. When I was leaving, he was grinning and said “I have lots of time to just sit and think about these things!”

From there I stopped to see his friend, Helen. I bought some used paperbacks for her. She was thrilled to see them because she was down to only six books left to read. The woman reads all day long every day. I told her I was thinking I would like to live there and would shut my door so I could just sit and read all day without interruption.

I’m thankful today for old people. You just never know what they are going to come up with next!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

