Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Potpourri

No, it isn’t Weight Loss Monday yet. But this was too good not to share today. I’ve been wearing a particular pair of jeans the last few months. And they fit, but when I initially put them on, they are snug. 

I put those jeans on today and they weren’t initially snug. But they were just sloppy feeling. Too big. So happy. So I’ve been trying on clothes. Losing weight opens up a lot of possibilities. 

Totally unrelated news. We got an offer on my dad’s house today. We have it listed for $89,000. They offered us $85,000 but I have to pay $3,000 of their closing costs because they are going FHA. So far, so good. But then they wanted a $3,300 stove/refrigerator allowance (there are no appliances with the house) AND a $4,000 allowance for a privacy fence. Uh, a privacy fence? I don’t think so. Anyway, I submitted a counteroffer agreeing to everything except the two allowances. They have until Tuesday at 6 pm. I hate waiting. 

I went to see my daughter and grandson yesterday. It was a really long drive and a really short visit. But still wonderful to see them. Plus the bonus was a visit with a really good friend/former board member who moved just west of Cleveland. In fact, I spent as much time catching up with him as I did with Andrea and Soren. It was a good day. 

Oh, and while I was driving I listened to The Vines by Christopher Rice. I will not be reviewing it because I hated it. It was well written but too weird for me. If I reviewed it, it would only be two stars. I hate to do that to an author when the real fault is that I just didn’t like the content. 

So what am I thankful for today? Lots. The offer on the house. My clothes fitting again. Seeing Andrea and Soren. Catching up with my friend, Kirk. I didn’t waste time reading a book I hated and it at least was something to listen to on the long drive. Spring us in the air. I need to get a pedicure tomorrow so I can put the boots away. 

Time to make a bowl of popcorn and settle in with a book. How was your day?

Comments on: "Potpourri" (8)

  1. Keep that weight loss coming, Pam. I need to be happy for SOMEONE who is losing weight! 🙂 I hope that the counteroffer is accepted and that you can finally put that chapter behind you. Glad you had some nice visits today.

    My daughter just left to head back to college this morning. It’s always tough at first but then I settle into my routine and enjoy doing my own thing. 🙂

  2. Sounds like a good day. I wrote all day. It was raining here so no distractions. Congrats on the weight loss. I have battled weight my whole life and so far (knock wood) I’m winning. .

  3. Congrats on the weight loss! I tried for years to bring mine back down and gave up a few years ago when my doc refused to change my meds. Felt like I was fighting a losing battle. So happy about the house. I’ll be praying it goes through for you. We moved our lot in Punta Gorda to another Realtor and, so far, nothing. We really need to sell that property. Today I was on a roll with my CEUs and finished up the last of six modules. I thought I would be working for weeks when I first saw the material. Only missed one question and renewed my license today 🙂 (It was a trick question.)

  4. Home sales are such a major pain. Had ours listed for six months, not one offer and it was not overpriced. It was within the Comps… Hope you sell the place, one less item to deal with right? I will have to refollow you, went through my panel, you vanished!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

