Not just a one day event, I'm blogging every day about what I'm thankful for

Exciting News

I didn’t lose weight this week. But, the good news is that I didn’t gain any either. I ate out several meals last week (work related) so I expected it. As hard as I try to make good choices, it is difficult to get portion sizes correct (I use a kitchen scale at home when I cook). But I’m not too unhappy.

No, that wasn’t the exciting news. But this is!

I have been working for weeks – planning, thinking and reading for months – to create a new website for our early childhood initiative at work. I’m the CEO of a local United Way and our board has spent the last two years planning for this. We have a bold goal of 90% of all children in our county ready for kindergarten by 2020. As a point of reference, one school in 2013 was 63% ready. So, we have our work cut out for us.

We have been operating several programs for awhile now and we are pleased. But on April 10 we will be making a public announcement of our goal and the launch of a new website which we feel will be a comprehensive site for parents, grandparents, and caregivers to help them prepare their children for school.

I chose WP to build the site because I thought I knew how to use it. Boy, was I overconfident! I have spent days learning how to work with the different elements of themes. I finally settled on a theme (lifestyle) because it could offer me the complexity to build the site I wanted. While it is ready to launch (and I finally made it public tonight), there are more pages and sections that will be added as time goes on.

I am very proud of what I have accomplished. My board is pleased. In fact, they all ask who built the site and I tell them I did. Then they say things like, “no, who created the actual website.” I tell them again that I did (with the help of WP). So, here it is. Take a look and tell me what you think. Comments are turned off on the entire site, so you will have to come back here and give me your feedback.

Now, I think I will spend the rest of the evening actually reading a book instead of working on the site (which is all I have done every night for a long time now).

90by20.com

Comments on: "Exciting News" (6)

  1. It looks good! Seems very informative.

  2. I think it looks great. Congrats

  3. Looks great. Easy to navigate and very eye-catching.

  4. Well done!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

